login   |    register
General Gaming
This forum can cover a wide range of topics.
How do I put crew in the tank?
Holdfast
Staff MemberPresident
IPMS-UK KITMAKER BRANCH
#056
Visit this Community
England - South West, United Kingdom
Joined: September 30, 2002
KitMaker: 8,210 posts
PC War Machine: 9 posts
Posted: Sunday, August 25, 2013 - 03:22 AM UTC
I finally managed to get the Cromwell that I wanted to start building a proper fighting machine with so I wanted to add an experienced crew. I wasn't sure how to do it but I didn't think that it would be difficult, so I bought the Cromwell without crew. I can't now add any crew to the thing! I have added bunks to the barracks and tried selecting a new crew and "placing" them on the Cromwell but they stay in the barracks? I have tried training up a another crew but that didn't work either. The Cromwell just sits in the garage showing "Crew Incomplete!!!! I have checked and I have the correct crew members with the correct abilities!!!!!

So what do I have to do to get the crew to board the tank?
Holdfast
Staff MemberPresident
IPMS-UK KITMAKER BRANCH
#056
Visit this Community
England - South West, United Kingdom
Joined: September 30, 2002
KitMaker: 8,210 posts
PC War Machine: 9 posts
Posted: Monday, August 26, 2013 - 01:23 AM UTC
Panic over, I found it, in the garage. Makes sens now but when I recruited the crew it wasn't obvious.

I had 5 battles using the Cromwell and one 1, destroyed in all! It seems like a capable tank though, I think I need to get my crew fully trained and stop trying to be the hero
staff_Jim
Staff MemberPublisher
KITMAKER NETWORK
#002
Visit this Community
California, United States
Joined: December 15, 2001
KitMaker: 12,233 posts
PC War Machine: 43 posts
Posted: Tuesday, August 27, 2013 - 11:00 AM UTC

Quoted Text

Panic over, I found it, in the garage. Makes sens now but when I recruited the crew it wasn't obvious.

I had 5 battles using the Cromwell and one 1, destroyed in all! It seems like a capable tank though, I think I need to get my crew fully trained and stop trying to be the hero



Crew training is a must. Trying to battle in a tank with a 55% crew or thereabouts is just hard. Watch out for the specials they do over the weekend. Sometimes they have x3 crew training for all matches over the whole weekend. That is the time to train up some of your crews. Also you can use the $20k credit option to train your new crewmember to 75% right away if you have the credits.

Cheers,
Jim
Holdfast
Staff MemberPresident
IPMS-UK KITMAKER BRANCH
#056
Visit this Community
England - South West, United Kingdom
Joined: September 30, 2002
KitMaker: 8,210 posts
PC War Machine: 9 posts
Posted: Wednesday, August 28, 2013 - 02:20 AM UTC
Hi Jim,
That's probably why I don't usually last out the battle I am doing this on a shoe string though and I only buy credit if I'm desperate! Therefore ranking up in any one tank takes ages but I'm getting there slowly. I might not play for weeks then get stuck in for a while but I have, since finding this part of Kitmaker and seeing your vids, been thinking about going premium, Is it worth it?

Do you rank up and go through the torture of research and purchase or do you just buy the biggest baddest beast that you can?

I can't seem to fathom any real tactics for any one map with any particular piece of armour as what works one time just doesn't seem to work another I guess that might be down to the opposition and the fact that I don't have a well trained crew? I am realising that one of the great advantages, as in real life, is to see the enemy first, so should I buy the scope or coated optics? I haven't so far because they are expensive and it isn't clear if these stay with the vehicle or I have to buy them again if it gets knocked out? I'm guessing that you don't have to buy them again if you do get knocked out but if you do I won't be buying!

Overall I like the game but, at the moment, not so much that I want to spend lots of cash to get good
Littorio
#117
Visit this Community
England - South East, United Kingdom
Joined: September 15, 2004
KitMaker: 4,324 posts
PC War Machine: 8 posts
Posted: Wednesday, August 28, 2013 - 01:14 PM UTC

Quoted Text

Hi Jim,
That's probably why I don't usually last out the battle I am doing this on a shoe string though and I only buy credit if I'm desperate! Therefore ranking up in any one tank takes ages but I'm getting there slowly. I might not play for weeks then get stuck in for a while but I have, since finding this part of Kitmaker and seeing your vids, been thinking about going premium, Is it worth it?

Do you rank up and go through the torture of research and purchase or do you just buy the biggest baddest beast that you can?

I can't seem to fathom any real tactics for any one map with any particular piece of armour as what works one time just doesn't seem to work another I guess that might be down to the opposition and the fact that I don't have a well trained crew? I am realising that one of the great advantages, as in real life, is to see the enemy first, so should I buy the scope or coated optics? I haven't so far because they are expensive and it isn't clear if these stay with the vehicle or I have to buy them again if it gets knocked out? I'm guessing that you don't have to buy them again if you do get knocked out but if you do I won't be buying!

Overall I like the game but, at the moment, not so much that I want to spend lots of cash to get good



Sorry to jump in, but is this one of those games where you need to part with cash to get anywhere or can you just have a nice game without the cash spend?
If the answer is 'spend cash' then I'll not be playing, I don't like games that promise great things only if you part with cash.
staff_Jim
Staff MemberPublisher
KITMAKER NETWORK
#002
Visit this Community
California, United States
Joined: December 15, 2001
KitMaker: 12,233 posts
PC War Machine: 43 posts
Posted: Wednesday, August 28, 2013 - 06:20 PM UTC
Mal - Probably the best way to learn to play the game is watching tutorial videos. However I never did that until I was really far along in the game. Initially I think self-teaching yourself the various maps and learning how to best use the tanks you have in your garage is a good way to start. For me I wanted the German tanks (of course) so I started with the tank destroyers and heavy tanks. Once you get up to say tier 5 things start to change a lot. You are no longer in 'beginner' matches and a lot of the random events seem to go way down. That is not to say you can't still find lots of idiot players at higher tiers, there are just fewer of them.

Periscopes, Repair kits, and camouflage are definitely the best equipment purchases you can make. You can always easily move those between tanks and you never are locked in like you can be with items that require gold to remove them and use them on another tank.

Premium tanks are very fun and come completely ready to fight. No upgrades needed. You need a good crew of course and you if you do opt to buy a premium tank, but one that compliments your existing tanks. So if you are playing German heavy tanks for example you might want a Lowe. That way you can use your crew from say your Tiger in your Lowe. They can pretty easily be moved back and forth as needed.

As for money required to play, Luciano, you can play completely for free. I did that for a long time and enjoyed the game. Of course the more time you invest in the game the more likely you are to want to do something using gold. For me it was things like moving equipment, up-training crew members quickly, etc. That said there are a LOT of players who never use gold or premium tanks. Most of the things in the game that use to require gold, you can now buy with the equivalent silver credits that you earn in each battle. So for example where in the old days only gold users could use HEAT or APCR ammo, now you can simply opt to use the credits you earn for free in the game.

I however have spent a lot of money on this game. I look at it this way though. I use to buy a $50 PC game every 6 months or so. This game keeps changing and kept me interested for 2.5 years. So that means spending a bit on it here and there is okay for me. I didn't start off playing with that attitude though.

Cheers,
Jim
Littorio
#117
Visit this Community
England - South East, United Kingdom
Joined: September 15, 2004
KitMaker: 4,324 posts
PC War Machine: 8 posts
Posted: Wednesday, August 28, 2013 - 08:14 PM UTC

Quoted Text


As for money required to play, Luciano, you can play completely for free. I did that for a long time and enjoyed the game. Of course the more time you invest in the game the more likely you are to want to do something using gold. For me it was things like moving equipment, up-training crew members quickly, etc. That said there are a LOT of players who never use gold or premium tanks. Most of the things in the game that use to require gold, you can now buy with the equivalent silver credits that you earn in each battle. So for example where in the old days only gold users could use HEAT or APCR ammo, now you can simply opt to use the credits you earn for free in the game.

I however have spent a lot of money on this game. I look at it this way though. I use to buy a $50 PC game every 6 months or so. This game keeps changing and kept me interested for 2.5 years. So that means spending a bit on it here and there is okay for me. I didn't start off playing with that attitude though.

Cheers,
Jim



Thanks for clearing that up Jim, I'll look into windows 8 and bootcamp for my Mac, then I'll join in although I'm really waiting for World of Warships.
Holdfast
Staff MemberPresident
IPMS-UK KITMAKER BRANCH
#056
Visit this Community
England - South West, United Kingdom
Joined: September 30, 2002
KitMaker: 8,210 posts
PC War Machine: 9 posts
Posted: Thursday, August 29, 2013 - 02:10 AM UTC
Thanks Jim, that's pretty much what I expected. I have watched a few vids and learned some tactics but they never seem to work for me! I'm guessing that there are still things to learn and it all depends, of course, what the other team do It also helps if the team is in communication with each other but this doesn't happen. Is the the opportunity for voice coms? I try and judge what others are doing and then use my tank in support or, if I am the biggest hardest one I get out there and take the hits; only to find that I have been hung out to dry! Much like FPS games most are only trying to get as many kills as they can without thinking about the team however it is a bit addictive but I have spurts of interest

Lucky, if you do take it up it would be great to team up, it would make survival much more likely
Holdfast
Staff MemberPresident
IPMS-UK KITMAKER BRANCH
#056
Visit this Community
England - South West, United Kingdom
Joined: September 30, 2002
KitMaker: 8,210 posts
PC War Machine: 9 posts
Posted: Saturday, August 31, 2013 - 02:10 AM UTC
I have trained my crew on the Cromwell to 100% and added camo net and binocular periscope. I have changed my tactics from trying to be the hero, or "doing the right thing" to holding back and waiting for the "right moment" to move forward and it seems to be working. I have survived more than not and in a couple of instances without a scratch I can't tell if either the camo net or the scope have actually made a difference, but how would I tell? I survive when I am in the top tier in the group but if I'm in a tier 8 match I can get a few good shots in but I will die!

Things do seem to be looking up though but why does my Type T-34 (chinese) always end up in higher tier battles and last 2 mins?
staff_Jim
Staff MemberPublisher
KITMAKER NETWORK
#002
Visit this Community
California, United States
Joined: December 15, 2001
KitMaker: 12,233 posts
PC War Machine: 43 posts
Posted: Monday, September 02, 2013 - 03:39 PM UTC

Quoted Text


Things do seem to be looking up though but why does my Type T-34 (chinese) always end up in higher tier battles and last 2 mins?



By higher tier battles do you mean tier 7 battles or higher. If higher it's because you are getting 'scout' match-making. But I believe this only happens on light scout-class tanks like the T-50, Chaffee, etc.

Normally with a tier 5 tank you should only be seeing from tier 3-7 tanks (2 up/down).

Cheers,
Jim
Holdfast
Staff MemberPresident
IPMS-UK KITMAKER BRANCH
#056
Visit this Community
England - South West, United Kingdom
Joined: September 30, 2002
KitMaker: 8,210 posts
PC War Machine: 9 posts
Posted: Friday, September 06, 2013 - 03:37 AM UTC
It probably just seems like it as I don't last long! I have gone for tanks in the past that it seems very difficult to knock out only to find that when I'm driving them they are a one shot kill!!!

I had a great game the other day in my Hetzer, 6 kills and I captured the flag! I was on fire and only took 1 hit and that was from a higher tier vehicle that was just around the corner of a building, so it was a glancing blow. I then poped around the building and took him out with one shot. I only carry 20 rounds on the Hetzer, 10 AP 10 HE The next game in it I got 1 kill and died!
Littorio
#117
Visit this Community
England - South East, United Kingdom
Joined: September 15, 2004
KitMaker: 4,324 posts
PC War Machine: 8 posts
Posted: Saturday, January 25, 2014 - 05:32 PM UTC
Mal, I found a widgit that lets you play the game on the Mac without having to have windows, you can't play full screen but I don't need to any way.

I've made it to tier 2 and a T-60 so far for one nights play.
1967er
Visit this Community
Nordrhein-Westfalen, Germany
Joined: March 12, 2012
KitMaker: 223 posts
PC War Machine: 1 posts
Posted: Wednesday, January 29, 2014 - 07:01 AM UTC
Hello Littorio,

I would be interested in that widget you mentioned.
I am using a MAC and don't want to buy parallels and WIN8, if possible...

Can you please explain how that widged works?

Cheers
Thomas